Quantum Fiber info request

Old 12-14-2023, 12:10 PM
Sage

Using QuantumFiber (aka CenturyLink):

Nominal speed: 200 megabits per second up and down
Actual speed: 205 megabits per second down and 235 megabits per second up via 5GHz Wi-Fi

Quote:
Originally Posted by MidWestIA View Post
Could you folks show results of a speed test - I'm getting 628 but it seems to be slow sometimes and paying $75 centurylink
Old 12-14-2023, 12:40 PM

Speed also depends on the equipment you're testing with. Our iPhones test twice as fast as my 3 year old desktop computer, presumably because my PC network adapter is not up to the task. But I am not a techie, just pointing out that different machines on the network can test at dramatically different speeds.
Old 12-14-2023, 06:00 PM
Veteran member

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgm1214 View Post
Does anyone in the Village of Charlotte or surrounding area use/have Quantum Fiber installed? Are you happy with it? Were there any problems with the installation?
I've had it for 2 years (1GB) but I also don't use their unit for wifi, I have my own that pump !GB over wifi. never have had any issues at all. dead nuts perfect every day
Old 01-02-2024, 02:15 PM

Does anyone know if they have stopped new installs during the transition from century link to quantum fiber? I live in the village of Lake Deaton (off of Hillsborough where people say they have had it for years) and I am told it will not be available for a while.
Old 01-02-2024, 04:45 PM
Platinum member
Thanked 1,974 Times in 755 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cybersprings View Post
Does anyone know if they have stopped new installs during the transition from century link to quantum fiber? I live in the village of Lake Deaton (off of Hillsborough where people say they have had it for years) and I am told it will not be available for a while.
Were you told by the grapevine or Quantum about suspention of fiber installs?
Old 01-02-2024, 10:41 PM
Default CenturyLink outage