"Smart Home"? - Patio Villa

Closed Thread
Old 07-12-2023, 07:04 AM
Default "Smart Home"? - Patio Villa

Just moved into a Patio Villa. When we bought it a year ago it was listed as being a "smart home". I'm not very tech savvy, but I can recognize remotely operated switches, etc, and I don't see anything that looks Smart. What should I look for?

Thanks!
Old 07-12-2023, 07:18 AM
Sage
Location: South of 466a, if you don't like me.......I live in Orlando.
Thanked 9,777 Times in 3,645 Posts

Fans
Shades
Thermostats
Lights
Sprinklers
Doorbell
Door locks
Refrig
TV
Cameras
Garage door

All on a network to control/monitor remotely.
Old 07-12-2023, 07:44 AM
Sage
Thanked 2,783 Times in 1,245 Posts

Villages Marketing gimick. Nothing "smart" included.

They add a ceiling box in the living area with a network wire.

Now days you can do most anything via WiFi.

There typicaly is power and a network port above the kitchen cabinets which is a good place to put a wifi Router.
Old 07-12-2023, 07:56 AM
Platinum member
Thanked 1,973 Times in 755 Posts

Maybe ask your realtor but that will probably be a dead end
Old 07-12-2023, 09:43 AM
Veteran member

Quote:
Originally Posted by bsloan1960 View Post
Just moved into a Patio Villa. When we bought it a year ago it was listed as being a "smart home". I'm not very tech savvy, but I can recognize remotely operated switches, etc, and I don't see anything that looks Smart. What should I look for?

Thanks!
I am certain you can find a neighbor that " looks smart.". Most are willing to help and share their experience in their homes.
Old 07-12-2023, 12:52 PM
Sage
Thanked 13,738 Times in 5,252 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by dewilson58 View Post
Fans
Shades
Thermostats
Lights
Sprinklers
Doorbell
Door locks
Refrig
TV
Cameras
Garage door

If I could control all of those things remotely, why would I ever need to go home?
Old 07-12-2023, 01:16 PM
Sage
Thanked 14,050 Times in 5,337 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by retiredguy123 View Post