Smoking Meats in TV

Closed Thread
Old 06-29-2023, 05:59 AM
Soaring Eagle member
Thanked 2,733 Times in 987 Posts
Default Smoking Meats in TV

When up north in the summer I like to smoke meats. I have a very unfancy, "entry-level" electric smoker that meets my needs just fine.

I'm curious to know if any of our TOTV brethren use a smoker, or live near anyone who does. Any insight on how it affects the neighbors? (other than making them hungry)
Old 06-29-2023, 06:14 AM

I have a Masterbuilt Gravity smoker that I use. I have never had any complaints yet from my neighbors about the smell. There are also a couple of clubs in the Villages that you may want to look into.
Old 06-29-2023, 09:23 AM
Platinum member
Thanked 2,365 Times in 744 Posts

We have a golf frontage home. Golfers seem to enjoy the smoke. I hear them on the course trying to ID which house has the smoker.
Old 06-29-2023, 10:11 AM
Sage
Thanked 5,498 Times in 2,287 Posts

Depending on the wind my neighbors might not even know I'm smoking. If they do get a whiff they ask what time dinner is. lol

We've Got Plenty Of Youth.. What We Need Is a Fountain Of SMART!
Old 06-29-2023, 10:36 AM
Platinum member
Thanked 2,018 Times in 773 Posts

Never had a problem with neighbors. Only suggestion smoke in the shade most smokers like mine are black being in the sun may effect cooking. When the smoker is not running the temperature probe may read up to 120+.of course, you'll save on pellets.
We just have better results in the shade.
Old 06-29-2023, 11:09 AM

I'm in the process of completing an outdoor kitchen. I insisted on having a spot for a smoker separate from the grill head.

I had an electric smoker up north, and I will be starting with that down here. I liked the ease and the ability to "set and forget". I've had sidebox smokers and while they have their charm, they require too much attending and work for my tastes.