Are some Villages locations better than others?

Closed Thread
Old 09-29-2019, 11:13 AM
Sage
Thanked 4,933 Times in 2,456 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldchief5654 View Post
newbie here and not yet a villages owner. But, we're strongly considering a possible move here.
My question is, are some villages better or considered more desirable than others? Also, is there much difference in the property tax rates in the counties wherein villages neighborhoods are located? I'm particularly interested in marion county villages locations, as its a bit closer to our 2 of our 3 grown kids, who live in north fl and is also farther away from the orlando metro area, which i'd like to avoid. I know noting about any of the various villages developments but it just seems reasonable that some may be better and/or more desirable than others?
Will appreciate input from "seasoned" villages residents. Thanks!

yes!
Old 09-29-2019, 11:16 AM
Sage
Thanked 9,078 Times in 2,745 Posts

If cost is a big issue also consider the bond that comes along with a home. The bond balance due is effectively part of the cost of the home. Northern homes have little to no remaining bond balance due, the middle of the Villages homes typically still have a few years left to pay off the balance, and as you go further south and get into new construction you will be responsible for the entire bond. On occasion you may be lucky enough to find a home further south were a prior owner opted to pay of the entire bond balance rather then paying it off in installments over time, but those are hit or miss. Good luck with your search.
Old 09-29-2019, 11:21 AM
Sage
Thanked 4,933 Times in 2,456 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruce zapolski View Post
South of 44 is the future of The Villages nobody has what they have down there but it’s getting better and better and it’s in Sumter County .ck it out
As long as you’re not 75 plus, if so you may miss it all
Old 09-29-2019, 11:52 AM
Soaring Eagle member