Tipping

Closed Thread
Old 07-01-2023, 10:17 AM
Sage
Thanked 3,773 Times in 1,547 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by tuccillo View Post
You don't know that. The policy can vary and may require that all tips be shared. I worked as a bartender when I was younger and the policy was that all tips were shared. Pocketing a tip would have had unpleasant consequences.
Truth!
Hostess, more often than notin my experience, is nothing more than a greeter who hands the waitperson some menus. The waiter/waitress guides on to our table, explains any specials, gets our drinks then takes our order. The waitstaff does something that impacts the customer. The host/hostess? No sweat, or effort that I can see. Full pay Plus a slice of the gratuity given to the one that put forth some effort on your behalf? Bet I can guess who came up with that scam/scheme
Old 07-01-2023, 04:44 PM
Sage
Thanked 9,654 Times in 3,167 Posts

Quote:
You don't know that. The policy can vary and may require that all tips be shared. I worked as a bartender when I was younger and the policy was that all tips were shared. Pocketing a tip would have had unpleasant consequences.
I absolutely do know that. I've been a waitress. We were SUPPOSED to pool our tips. But if we were tipped cash, the boss had no way to know how much cash our customers gave us in tips. He wasn't allowed to reach into our pockets, or check our purses in the office. When we tipped out at the end of the night, I might've tossed in a fair chunk to the busboy and the cook. But if the cook screwed up several of my customers' orders, resulting in a lower tip than I could've expected, I might shave extra for myself and tossed less into the share pool.

The only people who knew how much cash I was tipped, were the customers who gave me cash.
Old 07-01-2023, 05:05 PM
Platinum member
Thanked 1,353 Times in 614 Posts

Speaking of tips, did anyone tip their movers?

I paid about $8,000 for the move which I thought should cover everything.