Vinyl Siding and Pine Straw Warning

Closed Thread
Old 03-27-2010, 09:05 PM
Default Vinyl Siding and Pine Straw Warning

I am not posting this to cause trouble, I am just concerned. I am planning on buying in TV and one of my top choices is a vinyl home because of the floor plan. I live in Raleigh, NC and we had huge fire that burned six homes this week. They are saying the cause was an exterior fire that spread quickly in pine straw landscaping and the flames came in contact with vinyl siding. Please read the article (see link below) as I am no expert on this as a fire hazard but I would get the word out to your friends and neighbors to get rid of any pine straw they may have. I think I may even send this along to someone at TV. If you have any emails I should use please post them. Thanks.

Read more: http://www.newsobserver.com/2010/03/...#ixzz0jQpzs3Qg
Old 03-27-2010, 09:32 PM
Sage

Thanks for the warning. Just a note: Many of the vinyl sided homes have a 'sister' home in CBS. i.e. Wisteria II and Jasmine II; Camellia and Gardenia etc.
Old 03-27-2010, 09:48 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Russ_Boston View Post
Thanks for the warning. Just a note: Many of the vinyl sided homes have a 'sister' home in CBS. i.e. Wisteria II and Jasmine II; Camellia and Gardenia etc.
Yes I know. We like the Cypress and there is no "new" sister home. I understand is was built as a block home years back.
Regardless of the home one might have if you live next to a vinyl with pine straw I would be concerned due to the close proximity. Buying a CBS does not make my concern go away for me, you or my someday neighbors.

I just sent my first email to some VCDD board supervisors and publicsafety@districtgov.org. I told them about the fires and asked that The Villages reconsider their use of Pine Straw as the standard ground cover on their vinyl homes or better yet all their homes because of the close proximity of many.
Old 03-28-2010, 05:44 AM
Sage
Send a message via AIM to l2ridehd