Gas or electric grill?

Closed Thread
Old 09-13-2010, 07:27 PM
Default Gas or electric grill?

Hi everyone,

We will be moving into a cottage home in Pennecamp on October 1 and are looking into getting an electric grill. In NY, we have natural gas with a gas line run directly to our gril. In Pennecamp, we have electric and don't want to use the portable propane tanks. Does anyone have an electric grill that does a good job of searing steaks and burgers for more than two people? Do they cook as well as a gas grill?

Tony and Cathy
Oceanside, NY
Atlantic Beach, NY
Soon to be Pennecampers
Old 09-13-2010, 07:47 PM
Eternal Member

Interesting question but what is your problem with a propane tank? I have been using propane for many years and have never had a problem.

You can either exchange the empty propane tank for a new on at many of the local places (Walgreen's, Loewe's, etc) or get it refilled at Ace hardware for a cheaper price.

Second star to the right, then straight on 'til morning.

Last edited by zcaveman; 09-13-2010 at 07:50 PM.
Old 09-13-2010, 09:13 PM

Hi zcaveman,

I just didn't want to have to cart it back and forth for refills and thought I would research electric grills instead. I have a Weber Genesis in NY and having the direct gas hook up makes it so easy. I guess I'm spoiled having an uninterrupted supply of natural gas.

Cathy and Tony
Oceanside, NY
Atlantic Beach, NY
Soon to be Pennecampers
Old 09-13-2010, 09:22 PM
Gold member
Default have had them all

I've had 2 natural gas lines which are convenient, and also several propane ones, and also a couple of electric ones on pedestals with domed lids (George Foreman). The electric seems slower to me, but cooks evenly. We kept it down here while we rented our villa out because we didn't want to mess with propane as absentee landlords.