How do you stop your dogs from tearing your birdcage screen?

Closed Thread
Old 12-03-2020, 09:28 PM
Default How do you stop your dogs from tearing your birdcage screen?

This is my first time posting, so I hope that I am doing it correctly. We would like to move to The Villages by summer. We have two small (15 pounds each) dogs. We would like to get a house with a large birdcage to keep them safe from wild animals. I think that they would probably tear up the screen if they saw something interesting in the backyard. What do pet owners do to avoid this problem? Is there something waterproof that we could put up against the screen?
Old 12-03-2020, 10:12 PM
Sage
Thanked 9,079 Times in 2,746 Posts

Easiest question I have ever responded to. Train them properly.
Old 12-04-2020, 04:56 AM
Sage
Thanked 7,371 Times in 2,517 Posts

I have read on previous threads, that Lowes sell some screening that is raccoon proof.
Lining the bottom 2-4 feet of your lanai with it will probably stop your dogs from destroying present screen from inside.
However, two small dogs alone in lanai may encourage raccoons, bobcats, to try their luck from the outside, and they can rip open lanais.
Six of one, half dozen of the other!
Old 12-04-2020, 08:28 AM
Sage
Thanked 2,371 Times in 817 Posts

I have 2 dogs and a good size birdcage. They are never in the birdcage by themselves. We have squirrels that run over the top of the birdcage and ducks come to look in because we have a pool. I have never seen any other animals. I would never leave them alone I do not think it is safe.
Old 12-04-2020, 09:17 AM
Sage
Thanked 4,935 Times in 2,457 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Two Bills View Post
I have read on previous threads, that Lowes sell some screening that is raccoon proof.
Lining the bottom 2-4 feet of your lanai with it will probably stop your dogs from destroying present screen from inside.