Multi-Modal Path Discussion Group

Closed Thread
Old 05-07-2015, 09:46 AM
Sage
Send a message via AIM to DonH57

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ralphy View Post
I wonder if this expert engineer is the same engineer who designed the blind 90 degree tunnel entrances and exits. I started pulling into one the other day and found myself facing a walker in the middle of the right lane looking at me. Good thing I am a defensive driver who was driving slowly and was able to stop.
The only thing I know from the meeting was the engineer was from the firm who were asked by the villages authorities to give their recommendations on striping or other ideas for the multi modal paths. From listening at the meeting I walked out thinking there were a few that don't comprehend what others are saying or don't care. There are quite a few villagers that believe all cart paths are exactly that. Cart paths only. I can't vouch for the background of the firm the engineer represented in regard to design of the paths or tunnels. I personally don't think the 90 degree tunnel turns are a good idea either.
Old 05-07-2015, 02:12 PM
Sage

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ralphy View Post
I wonder if this expert engineer is the same engineer who designed the blind 90 degree tunnel entrances and exits. I started pulling into one the other day and found myself facing a walker in the middle of the right lane looking at me. Good thing I am a defensive driver who was driving slowly and was able to stop.
That's why I think a walker has a better chance crossing the street above the tunnel. You can see what's coming and wait it out.
Old 06-01-2015, 07:41 PM
Platinum member
Location: born Urbana,Il lived in Urbana Ohio for 65 years a house in Lake Deaton