NY state sues PepsiCo because customers litter

Closed Thread
Old 11-16-2023, 08:57 AM
Platinum member
Thanked 1,324 Times in 597 Posts
Default NY state sues PepsiCo because customers litter

NY accuses Pepsico of creating a public nuisance by making a huge number of plastic bottles and wrappers, some of which inevitably fall or blow into the Buffalo River when they are discarded.

I am not a lawyer but I think it is hard to blame a company for what consumers do with their products after purchasing them.

And what about Coke? Don’t they make plastic bottles?

New York sues PepsiCo in effort to hold it responsible for litter that winds up in rivers
Old 11-16-2023, 09:33 AM
Veteran member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rainger99 View Post
NY accuses Pepsico of creating a public nuisance by making a huge number of plastic bottles and wrappers, some of which inevitably fall or blow into the Buffalo River when they are discarded.

I am not a lawyer but I think it is hard to blame a company for what consumers do with their products after purchasing them.

New York sues PepsiCo in effort to hold it responsible for litter that winds up in rivers
I have seen Pepsi bottles placed in public trash bins atop of other trash. A gust of wind sends the bottles into the streets and some roll into the storm drains. On sidewalks along rivers, I have seen the plastic bottles littering the banks or getting washed into the river by the wind. Do I think Pepsico is responsible? Not sure. Maybe the city is responsible for not removing the trash before the public bins become overloaded. Or, not providing proper receptacles to deposit the empty bottles.

Last edited by margaretmattson; 11-16-2023 at 09:43 AM.
Old 11-16-2023, 09:43 AM
Sage
Thanked 5,396 Times in 2,069 Posts

Quote:

Seems like a ridiculous lawsuit. What good could possibly come from it? Will Pepsi stop selling plastic bottles in NYS and forces a switch to Coke? Won't that just shift the statistics and result in another lawsuit?