Sources for Old Coin/Currency Appraisals?

Closed Thread
Old 02-23-2023, 11:58 AM
Default Sources for Old Coin/Currency Appraisals?

I have some old coins and currency that my dad and I used to collect. Some are in collection books and such. They are inventoried to a degree, but they're not overly organized in general. I welcome any sources you may be aware of to have such collections appraised. And if you have any advice about how to make it a safe process, I welcome that too.

Thanks in advance.
Old 02-23-2023, 12:32 PM
Sage
Thanked 6,151 Times in 2,249 Posts

You can get some general info by searching ebay for similar items, also there are many coin and currency sites that will allow you to look up potential value of these items. What you will not have is the 'expert' opinion on how to rate the condition of the items. For this you will need an appraiser, and there will typically be a cost, there are a few local stores that may do this, however I have no direct experience with any of them.
IMHO, I would investigate using ebay, and then take some samples to a local coin shop and see what they are offering. Remember, they expect to make a profit, so what you see on ebay is what they would probably be selling for, their offer will be less.

Last edited by villagetinker; 02-23-2023 at 08:32 PM. Reason: missing word added
Old 02-23-2023, 05:35 PM
Platinum member

download the CoinSnap app
Old 02-23-2023, 09:17 PM

Go to a Coin forum, they will be happy to help...
I have a good link for reference but we are not allowed to post links here...
I think I can send it in a private message to you, hopefully, I'm not going against their rules by doing so...
Old 02-27-2023, 09:08 AM
Default Coin Clubs in the area