Lightning Strikes in The Villages

Closed Thread
Old 06-16-2023, 06:35 PM
Sage
Thanked 9,521 Times in 3,108 Posts

A metal roof is one of the safest options in an area prone to lightning strikes. So your architectural shingles will be useless when lightning destroys your entire house, and my double-wide with a metal roof will be the one blown away by the hurricane.
Old 06-17-2023, 02:13 AM
Veteran member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael 61 View Post
I got a breaking news email from that “alternative” Villages new source, that said a home in the Village of Linden was struck by lightning and burned down in last night’s thunder/lightning activity. Since this my first summer living here, was curious how often this happens - Common, Not-So-Common, One-Off?

I feel so bad for the homeowners, luckily no one was home at the time of fire, as they were up North.
I have been coming to the villages since 1999. I have heard of lightening strikes and homes burning down more times than I can count. Not many, one every two years maybe, but it most certainly does happen! Mind you, I am not a full timer. I do not know the exact numbers.

Once, while renting a cyv in 2017 at sumter landing, a lightening strike blew the appliances in the home. ( air conditioner, garage door opener, water heater, sprinklers etc). Not only in the home I was renting but in several of the villas in close proximity. The owner called a repairman who quickly came to fix the air conditioning. As you can imagine, the house was hot!

While he was fixing the issue, I asked him how many calls like this he receives. His. answer shocked me! Quite a bit he said!

I then asked why this happens. He said homes are very close. When lightening hits one home it usually causes damage in other homes on the same side of the street. He said he believes the lightening travels through the sprinkler systems. That would be his best guess.