Another Question about LSV/NEV Use...

Closed Thread
Old 01-07-2011, 03:35 PM
Default Another Question about LSV/NEV Use...

I have a new GEM Car. It's registered and insured. I know I can use it on public roads where the speed limit is not greater than 35 MPH (but I have no real interest in doing that since the other vehicles there are much bigger and faster).

It's my understanding that, as a Villages resident, I am permitted (by The Villages, I guess) to use it on the "golf cart" paths. It's also my understanding that I can use it in the "golf cart" lanes on the public roads within The Villages (by permission of the State of Florida and/or the Counties involved?). Am I correct?

My question is about speed limits. According to its speedometer, my cart will top out at 26 MPH (it's allowed to go 25 MPH on public roads). Am I permitted to use it at up to 25 MPH in the "golf cart" lanes of public roads? Am I permitted to use it at up to 25 MPH on the "golf cart" paths? Or do I need to maintain not more than 20 MPH in those locations?

I have every intention of obeying whatever speed limits are imposed on wherever I use the vehicle; I'm just not sure exactly where they apply. I would suspect that the police can only be involved when travel is on public roads and not the private property of The Villages (the paths).

I welcome any advice about this or about where I could get "official" answers. I suspect the Sheriff's Department could advise me about the use on the roads, but whom do I ask about the paths?
Old 01-08-2011, 10:42 AM
Gold member

You can drive at up to 25mph on the streets in TV (unless posted otherwise) even in the diamond cart lanes. The paths are called multimodal paths and are not under the sheriff’s jurisdiction as of this writing and I know of no restriction on using a LSV/NEV on those paths.