Looking for low handicap groups to play with

Closed Thread
Old 11-14-2010, 11:18 AM
Default Looking for low handicap groups to play with

I'm new to the Villages - arrive on 18 November. I've already determined that to get a tee time, I'll need to go ahead and get priority membership which I plan to do. I'm a 2 handicap and at clubs I've belonged in the past, was always lucky enough to have a dozen or so low handicappers that liked to have a regular low handicap pot game.

Does anyone know of any low handicap groups that play regularly (have a regular pot game) and which course(s) they tend to play regularly on?

Thanks - looking forward to settling in.
Old 11-15-2010, 07:28 AM
Sage

I am not aware of any, but have not looked.... they must exist. I think your best bet is to talk with the pro at some country clubs. I would ask first at Glenview. I am not trying to slight any other clubs, but IMO the pro/managers at GV seem more "into" golf than a place like Havana or Mallory. Ask the manager (Steve), he may have some insight, he is good stick.

Next I would try Palmer, ask out at the teaching barn or club maker shop.

What is a "pot" game? I am guessing winner take all medal play?

Good luck.
Old 11-15-2010, 07:33 AM
Founder

A friend of mine plays every week in a "low" handicap group. I played with them only once. I'm not sure if they are inducting new members, but I can find out. I'll bet they are.

JLK
Old 11-16-2010, 06:51 PM
Sage

Quote:
Originally Posted by dhs9099 View Post
I'm new to the Villages - arrive on 18 November. I've already determined that to get a tee time, I'll need to go ahead and get priority membership which I plan to do. I'm a 2 handicap and at clubs I've belonged in the past, was always lucky enough to have a dozen or so low handicappers that liked to have a regular low handicap pot game.

Does anyone know of any low handicap groups that play regularly (have a regular pot game) and which course(s) they tend to play regularly on?