Fidelity or Vanguard

Closed Thread
Old 06-09-2012, 03:19 PM
Email Reported As Spam

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexort View Post
Fidelity overall has MUCH better performance. See for yourself. I'm a financial analyst. Not to sound like I know everything, but I do this for a living. Vanguard does a great job of marketing themselves as the dirt cheap alternative. Both Fidelity and Vanguard are cheap.

Cheap is not everything. It's worth paying a few nickels for better performance over the long run. Fidelity has much better research, performance, and a great website. Not to mention, Fidelity customer service is outstanding. From personal experiences, I know that their back office is fully licensed, so they can talk shop with you.

I've used both. Fidelity is better.

Side note: You can buy Vanguard funds through Fidelity.
alexort: Your post confuses me or I confuse myself. You state that "both Fidelity and Vanguard are cheap" but then go on to say "its worth a few nickels for better performance". What do the few nickels add up to be? You also indicate that Fidelity has better performance over Vanguard. So I am interested in learning how you came to that conclusion since there are so many different measurements advanced for a fund's performance?
Old 06-09-2012, 04:12 PM
Sage

You guys are getting way too complicated for me. I was in mutual funds since the early 80's, usually T.Row Price, Fidelity and Vanguard. I didn't like the idea that I couldn't get the buy price I wanted. Instead I had to get the price at the end of the trading day, and selling likewise. I also didn't like the idea that I had to keep a fund for a certain time so not to violate their frequent trading policies.