Impact fees

Closed Thread
Old 09-15-2007, 01:03 PM
Sage
Default Impact fees

Do you pay impact fees every time you buy new construction or do you only pay them only once in your lifetime?
I'm assuming that paying them once doesn't confer lifetime immunity.
Old 09-15-2007, 01:47 PM
Sage
Thanked 1,665 Times in 594 Posts
Default Re: Impact fees

I'm planning a move next year to The Villages, so what do I know LOLOL, but I've read that impact fees are paid just once, and only for non-Florida residents buying new construction. What I don't know is how much they are.
I think it's several thousand dollars, but less than $10K.

Does anyone have more info on this topic?
Old 09-15-2007, 04:10 PM
Sage

I asked because I paid in Mar 06 when I bought my first home, then again in Dec 06 when I bought my second. Both were new construction. Based on that, I'm guessing that if you buy new, you pay..no matter how many times you buy new. It's not one fee per person per lifetime. I am a Fl resident now but wasn't when I purchased either home. I read something that made me think the fee was based on my environmental impact on the state. Now I think it's just another way to raise revenue.
Old 09-15-2007, 04:31 PM
Veteran member

So is the fee only applicable if you are not going to reside in TV permanently? I assume this is what I am reading.
Old 09-15-2007, 04:36 PM
Eternal Member

As far as I can tell, impact fees are on any new construction. Not additions but new buildings on new property.

Second star to the right, then straight on 'til morning.
Old 09-16-2007, 03:31 PM
Veteran member

Impact fees are tacked on to new construction, both commercial and residential. Doesn't make any difference if you are a Florida resident or not, everybody pays them. I actually believe they are tacked on to the developer or builder who merely passes on the cost to the ultimate buyer. Usually buried in the cost of the new home. They typically pay for schools and roads.