Directv Problem Today Sunday 10/18/20

Closed Thread
Old 10-18-2020, 02:54 PM
Platinum member
Default Directv Problem Today Sunday 10/18/20

Directv has been cutting in & out seeking satellite settings & once completed comes back on for 2 min & starts over. Anyone else?
Old 10-18-2020, 03:18 PM
Sage
Thanked 3,094 Times in 1,336 Posts

Is the message "SEARCHING FOR SATELLITE SIGNAL - 771" ? Run a transponder and satellite signal strength test. It's been a while so I am not sure where it is these days. Is your dish ground mounted? If so could it have been bumped? Sometimes (rarely) clouds LOADED with rain (even if it is not raining) can cause that but check transponder signals first. Should be in a menu somewhere. (I was a DTV tech support trainer in another lifetime).
"If one has no sense of humor, one is in trouble."
Betty White (1922-2021) R.I.P.

Last edited by EdFNJ; 10-18-2020 at 03:34 PM.
Old 10-18-2020, 03:20 PM
Sage
Thanked 14,022 Times in 5,323 Posts

Try rebooting the system
Old 10-18-2020, 03:33 PM
Sage
Thanked 3,094 Times in 1,336 Posts

If the issue is a low xponder signal (searching for sat signal 771 msg) rebooting generally won't help for more than a minute or two. However, that was the first thing we taught all the reps in their C.S. scripts to do. Whether it helps or not check your sigs because they might be too low. Should all be in high 90's if dish is properly aimed except for 2 local spotbeams + a few zeroes of inactive xponders. If most are in the 60-80 range EVEN IF IT IS WORKING call DTV for a re-aim but make sure you clearly tell them you "randomly get SFS 771" which should be code 771 IIRC. Should be at least 3 separate sats to check signal on (as of 2012 at least! ).
"If one has no sense of humor, one is in trouble."
Betty White (1922-2021) R.I.P.
Old 10-18-2020, 07:30 PM
Gold member