Is homeowner self insurance possible in The Villages?

Old 05-08-2024, 09:22 AM
Default Is homeowner self insurance possible in The Villages?

I have some experience with insurance companies created by groups such as doctors when their insurance costs had large increases. It appears to me that the current rise in insurance premiums comes from a combination of increases in cost of repairs such as lumber prices, and the losses they sustained from hurricane Ivan.
It seems to me that The Villages is located far enough away from the coast that severe damage from hurricanes is a slight threat. Similarly, the flooding damages we've seen like those along the St. John's river are also much less likely here. I wonder if we in The Villages are subsidizing the risks found in areas susceptible to catastropic damages.
My question is, would it be possible for The Villages residents to self insure? Could we form our own insurance company? I"m not familiar with what the state requirements are for capitalizing an insurance company perhaps some of you have some information about that.
I'm sure that the premiums we are paying are much higher than they need to be and that self insuring if possible would be a benefit to us all. Thoughts?
Old 05-08-2024, 09:37 AM
Sage
Thanked 1,693 Times in 603 Posts

Good idea. I'd sure consider it.
Old 05-08-2024, 09:38 AM
Sage
Thanked 14,238 Times in 5,431 Posts

Do not think it could work. A tornado wiping out a bunch of homes would wipe out such a group rather quickly
Old 05-08-2024, 09:53 AM
Platinum member
Thanked 1,134 Times in 561 Posts
Default Agreed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stu from NYC View Post
Do not think it could work. A tornado wiping out a bunch of homes would wipe out such a group rather quickly