Horse Park

Closed Thread
Old 05-28-2008, 11:36 PM
Veteran member
Default Horse Park

Thought this would be interesting for those of you who live in Sumter County

__________________________________________________ _________________________

The advertised "Horse Park" is a bad deal for the citizens of Sumter County! Now that I have stated that point I want to review and discuss a few points for you to remember as you go to the polls on June 17 to decide its future. I have grown up in the Leesburg / Wildwood area. I am a graduate of Leesburg High School and have chosen to raise my family here. It’s a great place to live and grow up. I have served this community as a firefighter for 23 years starting with the Leesburg Fire Department and my career has culminated in my current position as Fire Chief of The Villages. As a "native" I have witnessed a significant change in the community, and most of it has been for the best. I have a fantastic job protecting a fantastic community. My children attend a spectacular school, and because of this have a tremendous leg up as they progress into society and hopefully become contributing citizens. However, that is now threatened by the presence of a betting facility in my community (only 1,000 feet from my home).

The recent advertisement in the papers is trying to portray this betting establishment as a horse park where people can learn about horsemanship and enjoy their horses. They intimate barrel racing, equestrian, and roping will be the over-riding activities. However, the reality is that the place will be a CARD ROOM where betting and wagering will occur. The further reality is that these types of facilities will bring plenty of criminal activity and trash to the community. There WILL be an impact of the services of the law enforcement agencies in the area. This criminal activity is bound to spill into the adjacent communities. Look at other communities with operating betting facilities like Yonkers, NY.