May retire to The Villages.

Closed Thread
Old 08-13-2015, 11:10 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wavy Chips View Post
We were in a similar situation to you last year. We purchased a recently constructed home and are renting it out until we move down full time.

OK, as an airline pilot, I assume that you may have flown into KCLE a time or two, and you may know that they are constructing a new tower that will go live in September. I got a tour of the entire facility last night from my neighbor who is a controller there. It is a sweet facility!
Wavy - I thought the new tower at Hopkins wasn't going into full ops til sometime next year, at the earliest, but was structurally going to be done this fall. Last story I heard/read was that all the electronics would take 12+ mos. to install before it would start handling traffic, and the old tower shut down. You a Cleveland area native, by any chance? Cheers!
Old 08-13-2015, 12:55 PM
Sage
Thanked 2,954 Times in 1,160 Posts

From your questions with phrases like neighborhood, community, I think about how it was for myself before my first visit. In 2004 and 2005 they played a college all-star football game in The Villages, the Gridiron Classic at the polo fields. I watched both years on ESPN and I thought The Villages must be centered around those polo fields since they are so big. Then when we came here for a week on our Lifestyle Visit in April 2011, we never saw the polo fields. The Villages (TV) is about 35 sq miles and growing, in comparison Manhattan, NY is about 34 square miles.

If you were to drive from the northern boundary of Rt 42 south on Buena Vista Blvd to the southern boundary of Rt 44, you would of driven about 16 miles. Go to this link, it will give you an idea of just how big TV is; 82-cool-facts-about-the-villages/