Would YOU fly on the Boeing 737MAX- JUST re-certified by FAA?

Closed Thread
Old 12-22-2020, 04:31 PM
Sage
Thanked 1,343 Times in 519 Posts

maybe in 10 years
Old 12-29-2020, 12:48 AM
Sage
Thanked 4,933 Times in 2,456 Posts

How about 787 Dreamliner made in South Carolina? No I won’t do the research for you?
Old 12-29-2020, 08:28 AM
Sage
Thanked 2,780 Times in 1,243 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeanFL View Post
Folks - no big deal - but, just to clarify... the question is solely regarding flying in the Boeing 737MAX. Not COVID, not general air travel.

Personally, I would - if that's the airframe on the day/route/airline I booked.
FAA and Boeing absolutely know - a crash on the MAX, and FAA would be under serious suspicion, and Boeing would be close-to-fatal.

I am not an aircraft engineer by any means, but Boeing's (unbelievably STUPID) decision to include a single point of failure (only one AOA sensor as sole input activating the MCAS system), MCAS coverup, and Boeing's decision to not require pilot training.
Exactly, bottom line - highly experienced (and well paid) avionics engineers were "retired" and systems design work sent to contract engineers in India who never even rode on an aircraft.

It's a beautiful aircraft and I'd fly now that the design has thoroughly analyzed and corrected

Boeing 737 Max Safety System Was Vetoed, Engineer Says - The New York Times
Old 12-29-2020, 10:11 AM
Gold member

Quote:
Originally Posted by ts12755 View Post
Both were unskilled pilots.