Hilltop snd Chula Vista

Closed Thread
Old 09-16-2021, 09:08 PM
Default Hilltop snd Chula Vista

I have been golfing for almost 50 years. I have played golf on three continents and I love the game, respect the course and the architect and I was at one time an assistant superintendent.
I can safely say that putting at these two courses in the past two weeks is similar to putting on a giant waffle iron.
They are awe full and perhaps leaving them long from the heat, but my goodness, they are long, super slow, have mixed plants on them and just overall not qualified as golf greens.
Old 09-17-2021, 05:36 AM

Agreed
I understand they get a little different type of play. People who are learning and don’t realize they have to fill divots, fix ball marks and pick up their feet on the greens. That doesn’t mean the course shouldn’t be at least in decent condition. While we are at it..........there’s a few championship courses that could be better. Played OBH Tuesday, it had been over a month since.the greens were done....they were terrible. Who the hell does the work?
Old 09-17-2021, 08:29 AM

Comments are so true!
Old 09-17-2021, 08:29 AM

comments are so true!
Old 09-17-2021, 08:52 AM
Sage
Thanked 9,027 Times in 2,726 Posts

People need to have realistic expectations for executive golf. It is what it is, free golf on 9 hole courses that are mostly par 3’s. It is not real golf played on Championship courses, it is for fun, practice, and casual golfing. My wife and I enjoy playing the various executive courses and are never dissatisfied because our expectations are reasonable. The only thing I dislike about the executives is that it takes a couple of holes to get the putting touch back when playing a Championship course after playing the executives, but that’s why the Championship courses have practice greens. Golf on : )
Old 09-17-2021, 09:35 AM
Veteran member
Thanked 1,244 Times in 360 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by tophcfa View Post