How to Navigate Roundabouts

Old 03-24-2024, 05:34 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slainte View Post
I’m a newbie & my use of RABs is: enter when check that no vehicle is in either lane. Be in the left lane if exiting the 3rd or 4th (u-turn) exit. Be in the right lane for exit 1 & 2. WATCH OUT for other cars/bikes/walkers/ & cars cutting you off. Go around more than once if exit not correct or not safe & use exit 4 (do uturn) if I goofed up which lane & lots of traffic.
Am I doing it correctly ?
Basically yes, very safe practice. But right lane you HAVE to exit 1st or 2nd exit, you can’t go around. Left or Inside lane, the only exit you CAN’T use is the 1st. But you can go around as many times as you need to exit safely. This is nice if you mistakenly entered in the left lane but needed the 1st exit as you just go around until you come to it a second time. Also, you can not change lanes once you are in the RAB, not even when exiting. If you are in left lane you exit to left lane. Right lane exits to right lane.

Last edited by MSchad; 03-24-2024 at 05:39 AM.
Old 03-24-2024, 05:47 AM
Sage
Thanked 13,106 Times in 4,219 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by MSchad View Post
Basically yes, very safe practice. But right lane you HAVE to exit 1st or 2nd exit, you can’t go around. Left or Inside lane, the only exit you CAN’T use is the 1st. But you can go around as many times as you need to exit safely. Also, you can not change lanes once you are in the RAB, not even when exiting. If you are in left lane you exit to left lane. Right lane exits to right lane.
Now, 242 posts on this thread, dozens of other threads about RBs and yet not a day goes by without observing somebody doing something really stupid in a RB. This includes:

***Going 3/4 around in the outer lane
***Exiting at the first exit from the inner lane
***Entering from the right lane, cutting into the inner lane, then back to right to go straight
***Going clockwise in the RB to the third exit "because it's shorter"