Is This Legal Or Not Sam's Club Sales Tax

Closed Thread
Old 02-14-2015, 09:00 AM

Coupons and rebates are a form of payment that the merchant will be collecting from the manufacturer on your behalf, not a reduction in the sales price. Therefore, taxes are due on the full sale price. It is no different than using a gift card to make a purchase. You pay taxes on the total purchase price, regardless of how you paid for the purchase.
Old 02-14-2015, 09:36 AM
Veteran member

I just looked up at Fl sales tax site and they must tax on original price prior to rebate or coupon being applied.
Old 02-14-2015, 11:36 AM
Sage
Thanked 2,154 Times in 770 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by SouthOfTheBorder View Post
Perhaps the "Instant Savings" for TT is really a "couponless" coupon, in which Sam's will get reimbursed by TT for the amount of the instant savings. This results in a taxable transaction amount equal to the original price.

Don

PS I am not a tax expert…
It seems to me that if that were the case, then TT should pay the additional sales tax.
The Beatlemaniacs of The Villages meet every Friday 10:00am at the O'Dell Recreation Center.

"I never considered a difference of opinion in politics, in religion, in philosophy, as cause for withdrawing from a friend." - Thomas Jefferson to William Hamilton, April 22, 1800.
Old 02-14-2015, 11:39 AM
Sage
Thanked 2,154 Times in 770 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by blueash View Post
You received an Instant Savings Cost. This is like a rebate not a discount. Think of it as you bought the product at regular cost and receive a form to fill in and mail to the company to get fifteen dollars back. Instead Sams gave you the 15 back right away. Of course you had to pay tax on the amount of your pre-rebate purchase. What exactly, if you still have it, does your receipt say?

Here is the operative language from Sam's Club website