Go to College

Closed Thread
Old 04-15-2023, 07:07 AM
Sage
Thanked 13,983 Times in 5,362 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wilson02852 View Post
Next time your toilet doesn't flush call your college graduate. The education system in this country is mostly a total failure. What happened to "comprehensive " high schools? Those Phds in education sure know how to screw things up. They are not much better then the law school mill graduates.
I would just point out that, when most people have a toilet that won't flush, they don't call a college graduate, but they also don't call a plumber. Usually, they fix it themselves, call a handyman, or ask for advice on TOTV.
Old 04-15-2023, 07:24 AM
Sage
Thanked 13,983 Times in 5,362 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by MandoMan View Post
As a retired university professor, I would say that while you are close to right in saying that at some schools (including mine), [almost] anyone can get a degree, despite a lack of intelligence, people like that often get what they deserve—low level jobs suitable for their ability that may make much less money than does a good plumber or electrician. A college degree DOES NOT guarantee a good job or a high salary. Lots of college grads end up waiting tables and working on landscaping crews. One of my sons—smart, with mostly A grades—works in a warehouse. I’d say that kids who don’t know what they want to do with their lives should stay out of college until they do. And if they want to go to college just to get a diploma, ideally without learning anything, they don’t deserve to go to college.

Actually, I’d rather like to see a required military or service commitment of a couple years for both young men and women after they finish high school, as is done in Israel. When they get out, they are more likely to know what they do or don’t want to do with their lives.